photo (61)

Above is a very rough draft of an idea I have for the front cover of my music magazine. The most important part of this design for me is the title of the magazine; this is going to be the most noticeable part of the front cover as I want it and the meaning behind the name of the magazine to make a real impact. I chose to use a varsity-style font for the title, secondary coverline titles and the main coverline of my front cover. The reason for this is because, as previously mentioned, the ‘varsity’ style and ‘varsity’ font are very commonly used and associated with the hardcore and pop-punk genres that my magazine covers. Any potential readers who see the main font used on my front cover will immediately become aware of the genre of its contents, which is why the use of this font is so significant, crucial and important to the appeal of my magazine.  fact that the magazine has maintained the traditional style will also be another reason why my target audience will be more drawn to reading ‘Pit’ magazine. This kind of font looks great when teamed with bold colours and images of hardcore shows, with its bold, capitalised and well-structured letters reflecting the sheer velocity, power and attitude of the music and the culture surrounding it. I am going to combine this font with varsity style colours that suit the font, such as oranges or greens, however the colour scheme of my magazine will be easier to decide on once I have begun constructing the front cover on InDesign which will allow me to play around with the combination of different fonts and colours and layouts to find the most suitable looking design. The main central image on my front cover is going to be a studio photo with a white background that will remain part of the image and will serve as a background to the front cover; the text of the secondary coverlines and their accompanying anchorage text will simply lay over my main image, in black, bold, stand-out font, with no extra background or block colours behind them. I feel that the overall design of my front cover, once the text, colour scheme and the final image for it have come together, will create a big impact and will help fill a real gap in the market for a magazine of this calibre, genre and overall look and feel.