econtact sheet

After taking the photos for my music magazine, it was appropriate to select the few that I was going to use for my final product. After analysing other current music publications, I learned more about the certain styles and set-ups of photos that suit particular genres of magazines and certain target audiences. I used this knowledge and research to help me to select the most appropriate photos from the set that would best reflect the specific genre and target audience for my magazine. Most music magazines of genres similar to that of ‘Pit’ contain a mixture of posed, professional looking photos, and more natural and candid photos, accurately reflecting the fun nature and attitude behind the bands that play the music of that genre. More natural photos that appear to have been taken almost accidentally are more easy for younger readers in my target audience to relate to as it makes them feel as if the bands are far more approachable and similar to them as people; this highly influenced the choice I made as I chose two photos that showed the boys in a more professional and traditional photoshoot pose, and another which was taken by accident but since the nature of the photo was rather humorous, I felt that the use of this photo would be rather effective and appealing to my younger target audience and upon editing the photo I already had a rough idea of the way in which I was going to incorporate it into my double-page spread. My final product requires 4 images that I have taken myself. Due to the fact that I felt that only three images from this set were suitable and could be improved with editing, I had to take a second set of photos later on, for which I created a second contact sheet for selection.

contact sheet 2